The Scottish Parliament was elected in 1999 following devolution of powers from the UK Parliament.

It sits in Edinburgh and is responsible for many aspects of Scottish life:

The activities of the Parliament and its Committees can be seen live at:

The Scottish Government is the devolved government for Scotland. It is also based in Edinburgh and is responsible for many aspects of concern to the people of Scotland including health, education, justice, rural affairs and transport:

Local Government is undertaken by 29 Unitary Authorities and 3 Island Authorities:

Scotland has its own legal, judiciary and education system which differs from that in the rest of the UK and further information can be found at:





ScottishParliament Committee Room
Some detail of Queensbury House - ScottishParliament
Committee Tower - ScottishParliament

Tel: +44 (0) 1628 891 589  Fax: +44 (0) 1628 472711

Registered Office: Allen House, The Listons , Liston Road, Marlow,
Buckinghamshire SL7 1FD, UK © 2015 FWR  All rights reserved.

The Foundation for Water Research is a company limited by guarantee,
registered in England, No 525927 and a registered charity No 1086685.